For English, press 1…

Hi everyone!

My name is Shirley Li, and I figured that instead of doing the usual meet-and-greet type introductions (major, hometown, hobbies, etc)., people could learn more about me from hearing about a few of my favorite things.

A Few of My Favorite Things

It's a love story.

1. Vespas. I just came back from a summer studying abroad in Italy, where I discovered my affection for mopeds, particularly the cute and stylish Vespa models. My friends and I would keep an eye out for ones that we liked, and we would dare each other to jump on them and take pictures. Luckily, I was never caught by any of the owners! Italian men, just like American men, can sometimes be very sensitive about their vehicles.

Fusilli pasta with heirloom tomatoes, romano cheese ragu sauce, and fresh basil.

2. Cooking (and then eating, of course). I’ve always enjoyed making food, especially for others. I like having such a practical and valuable skill. There’s a special pride I get from knowing that I can create something using many smaller parts which ultimately nourishes the human body. Oh, and tastes good too. Annie’s Eats is one of my favorite food blogs, and often where I go to get recipes or inspiration.

Traveling with friends is the best.

3. Travel. I was born in Hong Kong, and when I was three my family moved to the United States. I have since traveled back to China almost every summer, and I’ve also been to over 20 states, Canada, Mexico, Jamaica, Grand Caymen islands, Japan, Italy, and France. I truly and strongly believe that travel can broaden the mind more than anything, as long as one is open to the experience of it all. This includes good things as well as bad things, such as getting lost in an empty Parisian underground subway station at 3 in the morning after the subways had shut down for the night. Though I was exhausted, panicked, and scared, I nonetheless made the best out of an awful situation by going to see the Eiffel Tower. It was beautiful.

And if you still insist on knowing more about me, then I suppose I can oblige. I’m a Sociology major and a Communication minor who is a member of the community service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega and happens to be trilingual, all while measuring under 5 feet tall.

I think I’m going to enjoy this class a lot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

