How Much Does a Polar Bear Weigh?

Enough to break the ice, my name’s Matt Aldrich.  I’m a junior, 20 years young, and I was born on January 17th, 1991, so I suppose that I just missed out on being a “Millenial” according to Pepsi.  I was born and raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan and found myself at Trinity University three years ago due to the lure of a talented men’s soccer team, beautiful year-round weather, and my insatiable addiction of traveling and experiencing new people, places, and things.

Having painted a broad picture, I can fill in some details.  Soccer is a massive part of my life, and has been since I started playing with my dad around the age of 4.  I’m on the men’s soccer team at TU and play as a central midfielder.  My home also holds a special place in my heart.  Family, friends, great memories, and Michigan football reside in Ann Arbor.  As a kid, watching the Wolverines on college football Saturdays has been a tradition among my family and friends, many of whom now go to

The Big House

Renovations to the stadium throughout 2010 have caused 110,000 fans to set the bar high for new head coach Brady Hoke during the 2011 season.

school there.  I’m jealous every fall as they receive their student tickets.  As much as I have come to love Trinity and San Antonio, there’s just no place like home, and I try to get back there over the holidays as much as I can.  I love lots of different types of music and artists, including Wiz Khalifa, Tiesto, Taylor Swift, Lupe Fiasco, Lil’ Wayne, Glitch Mob, Jay-Z, Michelle Branch, Bassnectar, Eminem, Drake, and I can never turn down some Katy Perry (guilty pleasure).  My favorite movies are The Dark Knight, Inception, Anchorman, Oldschool, and, well, the list is basically endless so I’m not sure why I even brought it up.  I’m a fan of Scrubs, The Office, and Entourage.

Family.  It is the aspect of my life that I place most importance in.  I have an older brother, Brian, who’s 24 and is currently in business school at Eastern Michigan University.  Jen, my sister, turned 19 just last week and will be a sophomore at Loyola University in Chicago.  My mom, Leslie, works as a gastrointestinal doctor at the UM hospital.  I’ll save you the trouble of looking it up: suffice to say that she sends cameras and other deadly instruments down patient’s throats to inspect the mouth, throat, stomach, or intestines.  She’s also responsible for conducting colonoscopies on the parents of a number of my friends …. awkward.  Dinner table “how was your day?” conversations are always so appetizing.  My golden retriever, Niki, is also a huge part of my family, and there’s no way you can convince me that cats are better, or that your dog is cuter or more fun; I just won’t believe you, I’m sorry.

I’m a history major and I signed up for this class primarily to fill some common curriculum requirements.  I’m sure I’m not the only one and I have no shame in saying it.  However, based on the readings and opening classes, I can truthfully say that my curiosity is piqued and I’m looking forward to the class.  You can find me on the popular social networking site BookFace if you feel so inclined! Until next time…

About maldrich13

im fun
This entry was posted in Assignment #1. Introductions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

