My TerriTORI

My name is Victoria Perko, but pretty much everybody calls me Tori.  I’m a sophomore here at Trinity and my game plan (as of right now) is to double major in Psychology and Communications, which is why I’m taking this class.  I’m from the great state of New Mexico, Albuquerque to be specific.  If you’ve ever heard anything about Albuquerque or if you watched Maxy MinnesOHHHta’s video, you should probably forget it all.  We do have very soft towels, and pride ourselves on the hospitality provided by our Holiday Inns, but aside from that, the things you’ve heard about my little home town (or the state in general) are probably slightly (or very) inaccurate.  I never really realized how many misconceptions there are about New Mexico and the Burque (one of the many terms of endearment used for Albuquerque) until I came to Texas last fall.  It may shock you, but we actually aren’t some backwards, old school, Billy the Kid, Cowboys and Indians, train-robbing, poncho-wearing, Spanish-speaking, tortilla-making, wild wild, desolate wasteland of a state…and I promise we are actually a state, although we do get overlooked a lot.  Albs is a really beautiful city, that sits in the foothills of the majestic Sandia Mountains (part of the Rockys) and we actually get all four seasons (yes, that means some snow in the winter and rain every now and then).

Thus far, my decision to choose Trinity and study among the elite minds of our generation has been one of the best I’ve ever made.  I’m absolutely loving it.  I’m a member of both the track and basketball teams here on campus, and let me tell you, it’s always a great day to be a lady tiger.  In track I compete in high, long and triple jump and last year I ran in the 4×1.  There’s an unbelievable amount of really talented athletes on the team and what they can do is astounding. If you get the chance next spring, head out to the track, work on your tan and try to catch a few events (yes that’s a shameless plug but trackletes need love too). 

Our sophomore class

If you have ever left your dorm room, or have any kind of social life at all, you’ve seen a group of tall girls in a pack, wandering around TU events.   The basketball girls are funny that way; if you see one of us, pretty much guaranteed a large group of us are somewhere nearby.  They are stunning athletes, dedicated teammates, and probably the most ridiculous group of girls you will ever meet.  Getting the opportunity to play with them and get to know them has literally been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.  If you don’t know any of the ladies on the team, meet some.  You can thank me later.

I’m a huge fan of country music, rodeo, boots, two steppin, tight jeans and twangs, which are just a few of the reasons I decided to come to Texas.  If you’ve ever got any extra concert or rodeo tickets, I’m your girl.  George Strait is pretty much my idol but can you really blame me?  Beatles to Beibster, you just can’t beat King Georgey.  I guess that pretty much wraps up all the essentials: school, sports, everything country and a little NM pride.  I’m excited to hopefully get to know all of you throughout the semester!

This entry was posted in Assignment #1. Introductions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

