The Asian Cowboy

Howdy! My name is Vincent Lo, and I am a senior here at Trinity University. I was born in Houston, but currently reside in Sugar Land, Texas. I am ethnically Chinese. I major in psychology. Speaking of which, communication and psychology have a lot in common. For example, the granfaloon persuasive technique creates an in-group of followers and an out-group of the despised, which is remarkably similar to what we would refer to as in-group, out-group bias in psychology. Not to mention, a lot of persuasive elements also take into account the workings of the human psyche.

My roommate and I during our junior year at Trinity!

I would describe myself as outgoing, though I also have a shy side. I guess it would be fitting to call me an introvert with extrovert-like tendencies – it’s a little weird how that works out. Music is one of my biggest passions. I play a couple of instruments: acoustic and bass guitars, violin, and the piano. I also like to sing, by myself in the shower of course. In terms of sports, I enjoy playing tennis, dodge-ball, and basketball. My favorite movie genre is action. Anyone heard of Freddie Wong? I’m also in a couple clubs on campus, like Alpha Phi Omega, Alpha Epsilon Delta, Inter-varsity, and Vietnamese Student Association, just to name a few.

Time sure flies. As of now, I don’t really know what to make of my last year at Trinity. Should I be worried about the zombie-like work routine that plagues me upon graduation? Which graduate school should I go to? Why am I so old? What can I make the most of this year? Who are all the new people? There are so many questions! I suppose living in a state of euphoria at the moment will suffice. By the way, I am not really a cowboy, but it’s nice to meet y’all!

This entry was posted in Assignment #1. Introductions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

