A Nhu Year…A New Story

Hi y’all! My name is Nhu Hoang (pronounced like “new” hence, the title) and I am a sophomore here at Trinity University. I was born and raised in Houston, Texas and have lived there my whole life. I am the oldest out of three and I have a younger brother and a younger sister. I am Vietnamese for all of you who are wondering where my name came from and I am just under 5 ft. (4’11 and 3/4 to be exact). You know what they say…big things come in small packages.

This is me at the San Antonio zoo for a Bio lab assignment. It is in walking distance from campus. Pretty cool right?

A little over a year ago I came to Trinity because as much as I loved my family and Houston, I needed a change. I figured that San Antonio was far enough, but not too far so that I can go home and visit every once in a while if I ever felt homesick. I chose Trinity because it is a great school academically and the campus is small and beautiful.

Currently, I am still undecided on my major, but am taking the premedical route and taking the classes that I need to prepare myself for the MCATs and medical school. I attended DeBakey High School for Health Professions and knew that I wanted to pursue a career in the health/medicine field coming here. Although classes can be time-consuming, I still make time for fun time. In my free time I love to do Bikram’s hot yoga. For those of you who don’t know what that is, you are truly missing out. You can learn all about the therapeutic hobby here. I love children and used to volunteer at a children’s hospital in Houston. I am hoping that I’ll be able to work with more kids this year in my free time.

Many people have told me that I look intimidating for a person so small. I promise I am nice and I love to meet people and make new friends. I can’t wait to get to know some of y’all this semester!

This entry was posted in Assignment #1. Introductions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

