The End is Near… sorta

Discussions about the Apocalypse and the end of the world are becoming bigger and bigger hits.  There are many people who are arguing and defending their views of when and how the end of the world will come.  Some believe that things will change for the better and others believe that entire world as we know it will cease to exist.  These two views are polarized beliefs, but there are many views and beliefs about the Apocalypse of 2012 that fall somewhere in the middle.Once an oil worker, Patrick Geryl is now a well renowned author in the field of Apocalyptic writing.  I would love to say that he is a good writer. I mean, yes, he might be a grammatically and structurally good writer but he is very poor, in my opinion, at relating to his audience.  He relays his information of the world’s end in a very convoluted and complex manner.  He makes it very hard for the common person to understand the points he is trying to make. His message is one of very high importance, and he places a lot of emphasis on being prepared for the inevitable end of the world. He tries to explain this message, however, by merely placing complicated charts, graphs and videos on his webpage, How to Survive 2012.  While this writing style might scare readers into believing the world is soon to end, that is all it does. This article and many others on this topic resort strictly to scaring their readers rather than logically informing them.

I cant wait till giant cosmos spiders attack this world

Other “scientists” such as Lawrence Joseph take the end of the world with the same urgency but with fewer Apocalyptic implications.  In a interview on wired.com, Joseph states that the 2012 Apocalypse will primarily affect the technological aspect of life as we know it; however, he still maintains a very high sense of urgency in his message.  He still believes the effects of 2012 will be a striking blow to the society on which we depend and rely.

Although many say the Apocalypse of 2012 will put our society in grave danger, some actual scientists, like NASA for example, believe nothing will happen in the year 2012.  On their website, NASA answers questions that are posted regarding the end of the world.  NASA is quoted as saying, “Nothing bad will happen to the Earth in 2012. Our planet has been getting along just fine for more than 4 billion years, and credible scientists worldwide know of no threat associated with 2012”. Personally, I prefer to believe credible NASA scientists over any other self-proclaimed scientist.  If they say nothing is going to happen, I believe them without hesitation.

With that being said, I do understand there are still many people that will fall for the scientific “scares” of the world coming to an end.  I will not let them affect me or change my views until one of them can find evidence undoubtedly supporting their Apocalyptic claim that the world WILL end in 2012.  As I stick to my beliefs, I feel that even if for some reason I am wrong about the Apocalypse, I would not change anything about my life. I have lived my life to the fullest and have filled it with great friends and family. I would not trade them or do anything differently. I hope I am taking the right side in this debate simply because I want to have more time to live my life and be happy with it!!

About rbuckrei

I am a senior at Trinity University. There I play football and throw track and field. I am majoring in Neuroscience and Business. I plan to get my masters in Health Care Administration.
This entry was posted in Blog #3. 2012 Apocalypse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

