I don’t know if you’ve heard, but the world is ending in 2012…

There has been a lot of talk lately about the theory that the world is going to end in the year 2012.  There have been books writtenmovies made, and websites created all for the purpose of warning people about the so called, “inevitable doom” occurring in 2012.  The strangest thing to me about this theory is the number of people who subscribe to it.

The creator and director of the hit film series Star Wars, George Lucas, has been reported as believing that the world will end in 2012.  In an article from the Telegraph, Lucas stated his beliefs while in a meeting with Steven Spielberg and Seth Rogen where Lucas was discussing a new film project.  Lucas is convinced that the tectonic plates that cover the Earth will shift causing massive earthquakes, volcanoes, and tsunami’s.  Lucas didn’t propose any solutions but the article did joke that he probably has a Millennium Falcon ready to take of just in case.  If this was any normal human being, this would not make the news but because it’s George Lucas this claim will be held at a higher level.

Another man who believes in 2012 is Lawrence E. Joseph.  He has a website where he talks about solar flares that can be so large that they knock out the electrical grid leaving humans without electricity for months.  This webpage is very well done and because of this the presentation of his information seems to be more plausible than the next website I will write about.  Lawrence has also published multiple books on 2012 which also helps to boost his credibility.  Lawrence even contributed to the New York Times and Discover.

The last man I am going to talk about is Patrick Geryl.  He talks about the polar shifts that could occur as well as the sun’s behavior in 2012.  There are a few posts that suggest that Patrick predicted certain things about the sun’s activity and astronomers recently confirmed what he predicted.  There is a ton of information on this site which suggest Patrick’s legitimacy.  None of these people suggest that there is anything that we can do to prevent this disaster, we can only prepare to live in the aftermath of the tragedy.

After researching 2012 for a while now I am convinced that the most commonly expressed reason for the end of the world is that the Mayan long count calendar ending is probably the least meaningful reason for the end of times because the Mayans did not specifically say that the world will end, the Mayans just came to the end of their calendar.  I am however concerned about all the talk about solar flares that could end the world.  I would not be completely surprised if solar flares wreaked havoc in 2012 but I don’t think there is any truth to the end of the world being on December 21, 2012 exactly.

If I knew the world was going to end I would definitely take a dream golf vacation with my Dad and play all of the nicest courses across the world such as St. Andrews, Augusta National, TPC Sawgrass, Pebble Beach, and many more.  I would also go skydiving with my best friend Nathan.  I would talk to that girl that I like, and I would go on an amazing vacation with my Mom to Europe and travel to historic sites as well as incredible vineyards.

About maxmph

I love to do anything outside, I especially love to golf! I enjoy listening to all types of music, catching up on all my favorite television series, and playing an occasional video game.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

