“You’re WHOSE father…?”

I am sorry to disappoint, but I have never seen any of the Star Wars movies.  Well, think I did watch part of The Phantom Menace at one point in my life, but I didn’t finish it and I certainly don’t remember it, so it doesn’t count in my book.  I suppose I really became introduced to Star Wars in high school – but at that point, I feel like it was late enough after the movies came out that its popularity was sort of an invisible entity (a force, if you will…?) that people acknowledged and respected, but did not discuss or celebrate on a regular basis.  If the topic ever came up in conversation, people were eager to jump in and comment, but I don’t remember Star Wars being a craze that swept the school hallways.

One thing I did notice, though was how it seemed like there were two major groups when it came to the Star Wars – the “haves” and the “have-nots.”  It wasn’t really “the ones who loved Star Wars” versus “the ones who hated it.”  Actually, I don’t know if I’ve ever met anyone that’s truly despised Star Wars.  But it certainly got people riled up to publicly admit that you had never seen the movies.  It was almost like some people viewed the movies as a right of passage (that I was apparently spitting on for not partaking in).  If I had a nickel for every “What?!? You haven’t seen Star Wars?!?” I’ve ever gotten in my life…  And honestly, there was something about the ferocity of the question (accusation?) that sort of deterred me from embracing the tradition.  It was kind of embarrassing to be criticized in front of your peers for something you didn’t even know was a big deal.  That combined with a feeling that I was too far behind (about 30 years behind…) to catch myself up to speed planted me permanently in the group of “have-nots.”

Because I have never seen Star Wars, it is a little difficult for me to understand why it has become such a big franchise.  I’ve been exposed to bits and pieces of the story – a quote here, a character name there, and maybe a brief plot suggestion – but I still don’t completely understand what’s going on.  From what I can gather, it’s a classic good vs. evil action movie with a bit of romance tossed in.  And while these types of movies are understandably popular if done well (people appreciate a movie where they can feel a sense of catharsis/closure from defeating evil and ending up with the main guy/girl), I don’t know why the spirit of Star Wars is still very much alive, even thirty-some years later.  I see the Star Wars theme on kids’ t-shirts, lunchboxes, toys, posters, etc, etc, even though the legacy seems so far-removed from their generation.  Star Wars certainly isn’t the only “space-y” movie, and it certainly isn’t the only good vs. evil movie.  Who knows – maybe there is something exceptionally timeless about the storyline, characters, or other aspect that speaks to everyone.  I guess I’ll have to cross over to the dark side (ha!) and join the “haves” to discover what obsession is about and form an opinion.

Words of wisdom.

Note: Without actually having seen the movies, I’m not entirely sure if I’m even allowed to make Star Wars jokes. (Whoops.)

Anyway, if a Star Wars fan were stuck on the spaceship Millennium Falcon and had to kill a character (Jar Jar Binks, R2D2, C3P0, or an Ewok), I would guess that they would have Jar Jar Binks killed in order to save themselves and the remaining characters.  I have not heard his name mentioned before, so while he is probably not a harmful character, I doubt that he would be very helpful (assuming that group cooperation is a concern once the ship lands).  I have heard the other characters’ names mentioned before and I do not recognize them to be negative in any way (I believe they are major positive characters).  Therefore, it would probably make most sense for a Star Wars fan to sacrifice a lesser character over a major one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

