A War Among the Stars…

Way, way back in the day when Pokemon were in, and shoes thats sole lit up were the best, I was first introduced to Star Wars. I must have been around 6 or 7 when I first watched Star Wars. Of course in 1999 I was simply interested in the fact that I was watching a movie on such a big screen, not necessarily the issues and the conflicts between the Jedi’s and the Dark Side. I can’t say I was extremely interested in Star Wars either. I have probably only seen one or two movies, and to be honest, I don’t even know which one’s i’ve seen. I guess intergalactic warfare just wasn’t all that appealing to me.

Even though the image of shooting each with laser powered rifles and swinging at each other with light-sabers is exactly what I think made Star Wars such a famous and popular franchise. Back in 1977, it had been only 33 years since World War II. Some families were still dealing with the wars affects on their wealth and mentality. I’m confident that the original Star Wars was somehow influenced by World War II, and those World War II veterans were probably extremely interested in the movie. I think another reason why Star Wars was such a success is the plain fact that it was mostly set in space. In 1969 the United States first landed on the moon, and when the government wouldn’t release a picture of the Earth it raised much controversy and suspicion. This set a general curiosity towards outer space and what it’s really like. In 1977, an original and extremely successful film was set in outer space, Star Wars.

Earth from the Moon in 1969

I have seen Star Wars before, but I don’t know much about it at all. In fact, I wouldn’t know what a Millennium Falcon was if I was a Jedi flying to Tatooine fighting for my life and the lives of my friends. In this hypothetical scenario, I would most likely sacrifice an Ewok simply because it reminds me of a raccoon in a way. Not that I don’t respect Ewok’s, I just don’t think they are as important as the other characters. Though sacrificing any of your ship mates should be devastating, it wouldn’t be that difficult of a choice to make for me. I guess I haven’t seen the movie enough to gain the right amount of respect for an Ewok.

After reading forums and blogs about people perception of Star Wars and their opinions on certain characters I believe the fans would most likely sacrifice a Stormtrooper. I think so because even though it seems that the Stormtroopers were a significant character in the movie and were aired nearly every other scene, there was just too many Stormtroopers. There were so many the entire movie it seemed that the more there were, the less important an individual Stormtroopers life was. I’d have to agree with the fan base on this one, even though i’ve only seen the movie two or three times.

About jcollmann

I am a first year student at Trinity University. I am looking to major in the Communications department. I like sports, video games, and hanging out with friends.
This entry was posted in Blog #4. Star Wars, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

