A Memorable Intergalactic Trip

One Christmas break, back in 9th or 10th grade, I went to Florida with my friend’s family for vacation. At the time I was living in Tennessee, so we took a long road trip which probably was more than 14 hours one way. We had limited choices of movies that we, as teenage girls, wanted to watch, and what her 10 year old brother wanted to watch. That being said, I was glad I finally had an excuse the watch the Star Wars movies. We watched them back to back, but the downfall of watching them in a car was that we dozed in and out of sleep and watched them out of order. I honestly liked the movies then, and I still do now, but after that road trip, I never became obsessed with the movies like others have. Before the trip, I had obviously heard of the films from my dad and friends, but never encountered toys of interest or video games.

Ellis’s article on Patriarchal in the films really struck a chord with me. I knew I didn’t like something about the films when I watched them 7 years ago, and now I realize it was because there was no strong female roles. Not only did they not support a woman’s strength in its characters, but they also mocked females. I’d be interested to see how young girls would have reacted to the movie if they incorporated more gender neutral characters, or even stuck an inspiring female role in the film. As many analysts have noticed, the majority of the Star Wars market is young boys, with Lego’s, video games, etc. Although it is too late to change the films, I think our media creators learned a lesson on gender equality from Star War’s mistake. Now most films on the Star Wars level attract both men and women, boys and girls, which enormously increase their sales of franchise.

The question behind the weight of the Star Wars franchise is in my opinion purely an economic plot. After the release and positive response of the first movie, I think the owners and writers released more heroic characters, more eye catching scenery, and more items to be correlated with the theme. It literally snow balled into an almost cultish consumer behavior. If the movie had been release in the 21st century, I believe it would have snowballed into the same consumption. Maybe even worse with our horrible consumer habits. Take Harry Potter’s realm for example. Could you not compare our culture’s recent

Same hero?

Harry Potter obsession with the late Star Wars obsession? I only think our culture is moving away from the appeal of Star Wars because our graphics in movies are becoming more realistic, thus sucking us into the movie more. I don’t necessarily think the love of Star Wars will ever die, but it will be cycled through those media-obsessed favorites. I wrote this blog while listening to this Star Wars Medley, and realized no movie with this good of music could be forgotten about.

If I were a Jedi, could I sacrifice myself? I believe my Jedi code has trained me to serve and not rule, and that I must protect others. My sacrifice would protect others from dying. It may be corny to admit in this world, but in the Star Wars world, the characters did not take the Jedi code lightly.

This entry was posted in Blog #4. Star Wars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

