I am your father…

I am not really your father, but these words became famous by a little known movie entitled Star Wars. Oh, and by little I mean GINORMOUS!  The Star Wars franchise is huge! Starting with the first movie in 1977, Star Wars has made almost $4.5 billion dollars in box office revenue and over $40 billion in merchandising sales over three generations.  I would venture to say that George Lucas, creator of Star Wars, started a name that will forever be known.As many of y’all know about at least what Star Wars is, I won’t bore you with all the details.  I will just start straight into telling my experience with Star Wars.  I had always heard much about the series and many people had told me about the movies but I just wasn’t buying into it.  I had try to sit down and watch the movies but I couldn’t get through 10 minutes of any one of them.  Partially because the older movies annoyed me with the horrible (for today’s standards) special effects. Anyways, I never watched any of the movies until a few of my friends forced me into seeing the newest movie, “Revenge of the Sith.” It was an OK movie but I was still not buying the whole obsession some people have.

Unleash your inner yoda

From an outsiders prospective I don’t see what the big deal is. Yes, I too have some movies that I love and can’t watch too many times, but never would I say I am obsessed with them. Some people get so caught up in anything and everything that has to do with these movies. It is a little ridiculous.  I’m sorry, but these people need to relax and get a life. I don’t mean to offend anybody who might be one of these die hard fans, I am just telling it like I see it.  I think that this obsession and vast growth in the Star Wars franchise has grown so much since its beginning.  When it first came out, I think people flocked to it because of the “new age” technology and topic of space and lasers and whatnot.  But recently, I believe that people are taking it a little too far. There are Star Wars Legos and there are people devoting their entire lives to this franchise.  There is an entirely too detailed and over-the-top website devoted to the Star Wars franchise.

Now, for the hypothetical question of, “Imagine that you are a Jedi on the spaceship Millennium Falcon, and you are flying to Tatooine with Jar Jar Binks, R2D2, C3P0, and an Ewok. You’ve just learned that you must sacrifice one of your ship mates in order to save your life and the life of the others. Who do you choose to kill and why?” I would have to take a shot in the dark and say I would kill Jar Jar Binks. this is based solely off the fact that R2D2 and C3P0 are robots and probably very smart and useful and that the Ewok id just so cute! Som based off these parameters alone, I would kill Jar Jar Binks.

So, that is all I have for you today about Star Wars. I am not the most knowledgeable on this topic but I am sure you can find an expert near you! They are everywhere. Just make a loud Chubaka howl and they will come running!

About rbuckrei

I am a senior at Trinity University. There I play football and throw track and field. I am majoring in Neuroscience and Business. I plan to get my masters in Health Care Administration.
This entry was posted in Blog #4. Star Wars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

