It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s comic books!!

Like many of you have probably thought at one point or another, I always have thought that comic books are for nerds.  I always watch TV shows or movies that in some way seem to reference, both indirectly and directly, comic books or comic book heroes.  My favorite TV show is The Big Bang Theory.  If you have not seen this show before, YOU MUST! It is hilarious! Anyways, it is about these four young adults who are complete nerds and the show traces their lives.  The point of me even bringing this show up is that these four guys are completely and utterly OBSESSED with comic books.  They own almost every super hero comic printed and are constantly looking for new ones.  They are complete nerds!When I first saw that this class would be reading comics I thought “Oh Boy…”.  I first started to read McCloud and was pleasantly surprised, however.  I actually enjoyed the way I was learning by both reading and seeing.  I think a lot of classes could be like this; maybe I’ll learn better.  So, this gave me my first insight into comic books and I saw that maybe they weren’t all nerdy and horrible. After McCloud, we had to read Y: The Last Man.  I was very hesitant to start reading this book because I didn’t want to read an entire fictional comic book.  This seems like torture. But, as I began reading, I quickly found myself tangled in it and I couldn’t put it down.  I literally read the entire book in three class periods (don’t ask me what was taught in those periods though).  I thoroughly enjoyed the read. I was able to see the characters and fully connect with the story.  This was a new concept for me.  Before, I had either read a book or I had watched a movie but never had I done both at the same time.  The read itself is easier with comic books but you get the same story as you would from a long, drawn out novel. I guess a picture IS worth a thousand words.  Y:The Last Man completely changed my views on comics.  I still think it might be nerdy to be completely obsessed with comics but the comics themselves are fascinating.

Because of this new found appreciation (and this blog), I went and searched for potential comic books that I would be willing to read. I came across some interesting results when I search “adult comic books” but I wont talk about that.  When I finally found what I was looking for, however, I came across this one comic book entitled, Edible Secrets: A Food Tour of Classified US History. It tells of declassified government documents with food as a theme! Assassination by milkshakes and subliminal popcorn cravings, are just some metaphors author Michael Hoerger uses to describe real life events in history.  I actually think I could read this comic book on my own time because it seems to tell the stories of political history in a fun, visual manner.

Well, that is all I have for now.  Moral of the story: comics books aren’t THAT bad.  This class actually helped me see that and gave me some fun, enjoyable readings along the way.

 

About rbuckrei

I am a senior at Trinity University. There I play football and throw track and field. I am majoring in Neuroscience and Business. I plan to get my masters in Health Care Administration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

