Sex, Drugs and Comic Books

I can honestly say that i’ve never been much of a reader. I am a much more visual person, i’d much rather like to see pictures and video than flip through continuous pages of the same size and style font. In other words, I don’t have the attention span to read books. Though my imagination sparks when it comes to picture and video technology. Books are’t the only thing that’ve kept me from reading comic books, it’s also all of the superhero nonsense. I’ve never really had an interest towards Spiderman, Batman, or any other superhero for that matter. I guess my interests fell towards a more concrete example of heroism; war.

However, after reading Y: The Last Man, I was introduced to a perceptible reading that I never thought I would witness before. Reading Y: The Last Man was a treat for me. After countless readings of essays, novels, and textbooks the past few years, and not reading a comic book since my earlier ages, being able to put words together with pictures to help visualize the story was actually fun. Before being directed to read comic books in Media Interpretation and Criticism, I probably never would have touched a comic book. Y: The Last Man also had a apocalyptic story behind it, and that always excites me. The basic instinct of survival has always had me entertained.

It took me a little while to find a comic book based on topics that I find interesting. I looked at comic books based on soccer, survival, the War in Iraq, but couldn’t find anything to catch my eye. After about 10 more minutes of searching, I finally found a comic book that I definitely want to read. The comic book that I found is called Battlefields. It was written by Garth Ennis, and illustrated by Paul Jason Holden, in early 2009. Published in December of 2009 by Dynamite Entertainment, this comic book was primarily based on World War 2. The series starts off with an aerial attack on Germany in January of 1942. The main character, also the head of a bomber crew, realizes losses are high and life expectancy is low, and just when everything seems as it couldn’t get any worse, he is introduced to his foulmouthed, arrogant, battle-hardened crew.

Almost immediately, I was hooked. It’s stories like these that always have my full attention. I don’t know what exactly it is about them, but they seem to control my mind and thoughts. Honestly, I sort of opposed comic books at first. It’s funny that i’m starting to think differently now here in college. I used to always think that comic books were for children, and that they were always had a superhero based storyline. I don’t believe that at all now. Comic books aren’t only for children, they’re for teens and adults as well. Everyone likes a good story, and comic books tell them well and with illustrations, no matter what genre it is!

About jcollmann

I am a first year student at Trinity University. I am looking to major in the Communications department. I like sports, video games, and hanging out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

