Words with pictures…? YES.

I love the idea of comic books, but unfortunately haven’t found many that I have liked in a long time. When I was little I was bombarded with french comic books, which I loved, and to this day still pick up when I’m having a rough day or just need a break. The idea that comic books are nerdy are absolutely ridiculous. There are so many different types of comics that there is bound to be something that interests everyone there. Comics can interests little kids and adults just the same.

The French comic book TinTin by Georges Remi 1907-1983

I grew up with Les Aventures de Tintin, written by Georges Rémi,  Astérix, by Rene Goscinny, and Blake et Mortimer, by Edgar P. Jacobs and many more, but since, I haven’t found an interest in any comic books.

I love the principle of comic books, the story that is conveyed through both pictures and texts. The way that it is broken up makes reading comic books fun and doesn’t feel like a chore. The comic books I read when I was little I loved, but I also love the sunday morning comic strips and read them on  a regular basis.

At first when you said we would be reading a comic book in this class I was not looking forward to it, I have never read an comic book meant for adults, but I found myself really enjoying. Y: The Last Man was really interesting and I ended up reading it all in one setting. I found the art appealing and the storyline kept me intrigued. When I finished it and saw the astronauts it made me want to order the next one to see what happens with the Amazons and all the characters.

While researching other comic books intended for adults I came across the comic series Sin City by Frank Miller. This series first started in 1991 and eventually was adapted into a film that was released in 2005.

Frank Miller's Sin City

The comic series has 13 parts that all intertwine and were originally drawn in just black and white. The Sin City series follows the protagonist, Marv around who is an ex-convict who falls in love with a girl named Goldie who is murder the same night he meets her. The thirteen part series follows Marv on his quest to find her murderer.

I’m not the biggest comic book fan in the world, but I am someone who could be found reading Zits, Tintin,  or Y: The Last Man. All of these comics are have different audiences, appeal, purpose and length-but all allow you to loose yourself in the illustration and stories while reading, and I would recommend all of them.

About akervella92

Student Athlete at Trinity University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

