Comic Book Guy

Comics have never been my thing.  The closest I ever came to reading comics is the funny section of the paper.  I always loved reading Dilbert, Family Circus, and of course Peanuts.  The creator of Charlie Brown and friends, Charles Schultz, is from Minnesota.  I know this because I too am from Minneapolis, Minnesota!  All around downtown Minneapolis and Saint Paul there are statues of Snoopy and other characters on many of the street corners.  This is probably the largest extent of interest in comics of any type.  The rest of my comic experience came from watching movies and playing with various action figures of different comic book heroes.

Y: The Last Man was a pretty decent read.  I’m not a huge fan of this genre of book so i’m happy there were lots of pictures to nullify the need for excessive descriptions of the planet after all of the Men die.  I enjoyed the way that the book introduces and develops each character.  I got a good feel for the personality and the motifs of the main characters, besides just surviving as the last man.  Overall I don’t think I will be interested enough to pick up the next in the series, but I definitely won’t be turned of by a graphic novel such as this.  To be honest, I was amazed at how much detail could be obtained using so many small pictures rather than words.

One adult comic book that looks interesting to me is Jimmy Corrigan, the Smartest Kid on Earth.  It is about a boy who has a less than perfect life, but he has great imaginative adventures that go on inside his mind.  This looks interesting to me because I have a wild imagination sometimes and it is always fun to hear about, or read about, the imaginative ideas that other people come up with while they are daydreaming.

I wish I could say that I love comic books, but I just can’t do it.  Not because I think it’s nerdy or uncool, but to be honest i’m just not a big reader in general, although I do read a little.  Maybe I will get into comic books more as I explore new media but I don’t know, only time will tell.

About maxmph

I love to do anything outside, I especially love to golf! I enjoy listening to all types of music, catching up on all my favorite television series, and playing an occasional video game.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

