Hey, check out that nerd!

Slightly embarrassed, I pulled the hardback comic book out of my bag, attempting to keep it hidden from my fellow students in fear that they would judge me for my seemingly nerdy choice in literature. As I felt the eyes of the girl next to me glance over, I awkwardly stumbled to explain myself.

“I’m reading this for my Media class! I swear!”

The typical comic book nerd (in animal form, of course)

She didn’t seem to care much about my nerdy, hardback, and pristine comic book. I then found myself questioning why I cared so much about something gone unnoticed by strangers? Why did I feel like people were going to instantly stare and point at me, chuckling, “Hey, check out that nerd”? Then it dawned on me: I have a personal stigma against comic books. For some unknown reason, I have developed a snooty attitude toward comic books in which I have very little ground. Therefore, when picking up my very first comic book, it was hard for me to imagine myself enjoying it. Maybe it was because I felt childish, as if pictures were no longer aloud in books once reaching a certain age; or maybe it was my preconceived notions about anime and other such art forms. Whatever it was, I was letting stereotyping and my personal nonsensical opinions hinder me from truly enjoying the new experience I was about to have.

Once I got past my initial hesitation, I found that I was able to somewhat enjoy reading Y: The Last Man. Although I still preferred to read it in the privacy of my own dorm (as silly as that sounds), I found the story quite compelling. One thing I really enjoyed about the comic book set-up was the speed in which I was able to read it. The combination of images and text gave the book a quicker and more intensified pace. This form of storytelling works nicely for action-intensive stories like Y: The Last Man. I felt myself being roped into the story and engaged in Yorick’s journey despite my previously negative preconceptions.

"Uncharted." Could this be a modern Indiana Jones?

Although I read Y: The Last Man, attempting to rid my mind of the negative associations I had made with comic books, I still cannot see myself picking up a comic book for a personal read. I am naturally drawn to different genres of literature, though I do have a greater appreciation for certain types of comic books now that I’ve experienced reading one first-hand. If I was, however, to have a strong urge to read another comic book, I would definitely pick another action-packed storyline, thus keeping me alert and engaged. When researching different comic books, one in particular stuck out to me. It is called Uncharted, and it is based off of a playstation game that was developed by Sony. The story follows a modern-day treasure hunter through his numerous adventures.The reason such a storyline intrigues me is because it reminds me of movies such as Indiana Jones and National Treasure, which I find very entertaining.

Overall, my experience with Y: The Last Man was better than I had expected, leading me alter the stereotype I had formed in my head of the typical comic book nerd. Reading the comic book allowed for me to return to the good-ole days where words and images combined forces to convey messages.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

