How to Kill a Guy in 10 Days

Not that I’ve ever tried, or ever hope to!  Read on, males, I promise its safe.  When we were first assigned this video project I was very excited, I thought it sounded like tons of fun.  I thought “At the end of the semester I’ll be so B.A., I’ll be able to make my very own movie trailer!”  As the semester went on and this dreaded due date drew nearer, I began to panic.  Unlike my expectations at the beginning of the semester, I had not mysteriously acquired incredible video editing skills and while the video training covered the basics, oh baby did I have a long way to go.  I couldn’t even decide on a movie.  That was the first adventure.  Due to the fact that I don’t actually have any DVDs here at Trinity, I decided to take a trek to my nearest Redbox location and flipped through the selections.  I decided to do Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004) because, let’s face it, you can’t beat Will Farrell.  But I couldn’t decide what to turn it into:  Horror?  Action? Two anchormen pitted against one another, fighting to the death?  ..That’s essentially what the story is about anyways.  So I decided to switch up the movie and this put me back at square one. 

On top of everything, the infamous professor Delwiche was telling audio horror stories on a daily basis.  The intimidation was piling up and the clock was ticking.  I needed a movie, adn unfortuantely, this time around, my mode of transportation was unavailable so I drudgingly took a venture to the library.  I had heard rumblings that the movie selection wasn’t too bad.  And desperate times call for desperate measures.  Off to the library it was!  I was actually really impressed by the selection.  I’m actually fairly positive the DVD collection is Trinity’s best kept secret.  And as hesitant as I am to let everyone in on this little secret, they have everything from Momento (2000) to Enchanted (2007), including the classic, How

The ultimate game of cat and mouse...

to Lose A Guy In Ten Days (2003).  If there is a greater combination than Kate Hudson, Matthew McConaughey and two hours of my life, I don’t know what it is.  At this point, the choice was clear.  I would have to turn Andy (Kate Hudson) into a psychopathic killer with a mysterious source of power over her victim, possibly something in the house that she is investigating. 

I set the carefully selected clips to some eerie music to begin the trailer along with particular dialogue from the movie.  The trailer begins with the voice of Ben (Matthew McConaughey) saying “It’s her secret source of power, there are many dark and dangerous things in there” then quickly transitioning to Andy investigating the house and stating how much she loves it.  Therefore, the viewer infers that something in the house is not quite right.  Additionally, it is then revealed to the viewer that Andy will have Ben “running for his life” and “wishing he was dead.”  These threats combined with the clips of Ben making an escape lead the audience to conclude that Andy is out to kill him, but not before torturing him!  The music changes from less of an eerie sound to more action-packed, suspenseful music as the number of cuts increase and the shots become more action-filled.  The final element, her psychological instability, is gradually revealed through her singing “Mary Had A Little Lamb,” making bug-eyed, crazy faces at Ben, and in the final scene.  This scene is key because the viewer sees that Ben knows she’s crazy, but for some unbeknownst reason, he’s still with her.  Perhaps this is the mysterious power she has over him.

After encountering the dreaded audio disappearance crisis (and surviving, but only barely!) I completed my video project and can now call myself a professional video editor.  I used the Lynda tutorials a lot and they were incredibly helpful.  If you didn’t take advantage of them, I seriously suggest you look into it.  They are easy to use and very informative.  I could not have finished this project without them, or Professor Delwiche, Adobe Premier whisperer; so I guess all’s well that ends well, as long as you’re not Matthew McConaughey!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

