One Last Hoorah

Well, it’s now the end. No, not the apocalypse, but the end of Communication 2302 (see what I did there?). I must admit whole-heartedly that I thoroughly enjoyed taking this class. It has had its ups and downs, but for the most part I might venture to say that it has been one of my favorite classes I’ve taken thus far at Trinity. I promise I’m not just saying that either.

Just one of the pop culture references discussed in class. Class discussion on MJ? Okay.

From the first day of class, when we discussed pop culture and politically mediated events, I could tell, by the lack of words transcribed in my notebook, that I was going to enjoy this semester. At first, I was vexed as to how the topics covered in class actually related to the overall subject of the course. It almost felt that rather than learning about the media, we were simply covering crucial moments in history and actually…gulp…learning from them. At a second glance I can easily see why these subjects were chosen by Dr. Delwiche. Our history as well as our present and future are all shaped by the media in some way and by giving us the tools to interpret and criticise it, we can absorb the deeper meaning behind it all. So, I have to say, well done Delwiche.

In regards to Monday’s topic of discussion, I’d like to bring back the topic of ideology. Before taking this class, did I think I knew what ideology meant? Yes. But did I really? Probably not. Talking about the subject really enlightened my perspective and I was very interested in the changes that have occurred within the last few decades.

I can predict that almost everyone in the class will claim that their favorite readings from this semester have been those written by Chuck Klosterman. I would have to humbly agree. There’s something about his writing style that goes beyond just being a good writer. He seems to say exactly what you want to hear and even his diction, although not the most professional, was so refreshing in that it came across as intelligently conversational. His insights were so well argued as well that there was no way I could even disagree with anything he said. I’m looking forward to his lecture on Trinity’s campus. I will definitely be there.

My least favorite reading was probably, aside from Baudrillard’s lengthy piece, Steven Shaviro’s Walt Disney. I had so much trouble keeping my focus on this reading that I probably read the same sentence at least 5 times before I felt like I understood what Shaviro was trying to say. I felt like his topic of sincerity lost complete sense after the first paragraph that mentioned it and by the last few paragraphs I found myself skimming each first line and desperately searching for something to highlight. In my defense, his essay looked overwhelmingly dull on paper and I just couldn’t bring myself to like what I was reading. The only idea from this essay that I found compelling was the conclusion’s argument that “the regulative principle of postmodern irony is that we can survive only my squandering ourselves.” After reading this, the third to last sentence mind you, I finally had an ah-ha! moment. I agreed that our generation thrives on beating itself, so to speak, and I thought that Shaviro articulated that well (in the last paragraph).

As I come to a close and bid the a farewell, I must inform you of my future plans. Sadly, I will not be taking a Communication class next semester, but do not fret! My intentions of potentially becoming a Communication double major is still quite possible. I’m taking an overwhelming amount of business classes next semester to open my window of options for future classes. I’m thoroughly interested in Communication courses, especially ones like Principles of PR, but I may be venturing into the world of Human Communication – only time will tell and time… I have plenty of. You see, I think you spend your whole life learning, and as long as you’re learning, you’re growing and as long as you’re growing, you’re never too old to stop learning and if you’re never too old…well, you’re never really out of time. You just can’t put life on a timer, that’s no way to live. So all of you who persistently argue that the end of the world is near, you’re living with unnecessary stress and you’ll get wrinkles for every minute you worry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

