Farewell…

So the semester has come to an end. It’s crazy how quickly time flies. I cannot believe that I have just finished my first semester in college. I am glad that I had the opportunity to take this Media Interpretation and Criticism course, as it has left a significant influence over what I am considering majoring in. From the lectures to the blog postings, writing assignments, readings, and video projects—I truly did enjoy taking this class. So many interesting topics were discussed, from aspects of psychology and post- modernism to film and cinematic techniques (which I now notice ALL THE TIME whenever I’m watching a movie or any other visual media).

John Cusack as Lloyd Dobler in "Say Anything"

Even though all the readings were thought-provoking and stimulating (well most at least), I would have to say the one that really grabbed my attention would have to be Klosterman’s reading of This is Emo. Even though he did bash and blame John Cusack for our “inability to experience a kind of mind- blowing, transcendent romantic relationship,” I refuse to hold a grudge against Lloyd Dobler and his boombox serenade. As you may have already guessed, I was not a particular fan of the Baudrillard readings. Nevertheless, I still found one particular instance that struck me as interesting was when Klosterman states in the Simulations reading: “Transgression and violence are less serious, for they only contest the distribution of the real. Simulation is infinitely more dangerous, however, since it always suggests, over and above its object, that law and order themselves might really be nothing more than a simulation.” Its kind of a mind- blowing idea to think of reality as not actually being what we have grown to perceive reality to be, but rather the simulation Baudrillard discusses. Quite frankly, this idea is frightening, as things usually are when we grow up being taught one particular idea without any knowledge of other possibilities or explanations.

So assuming the world doesn’t end in 2012, I plan on returning to Trinity next semester. I am actually registered to take a Mass Media course, as well as your Web Design class (which I am really looking forward to!).  I plan on running Track and Field next semester as well, and as for studying abroad, that will unfortunately have to hold off for another couple of years. Finally, as the course comes to end on Monday, I have no particular preference of what topics should be further discussed, because I’m pretty much open- minded and all ears for any discussions. Well that is all, farewell Comm 2302 blogs. Adios.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

