Another Semester Bites the Dust

I think we all can agree that finishing a semester brings everyone joy… your just that much closer to graduation! Personally this semester has been extremely busy and had a few bumps in the road so I’m looking forward to the break. But before we call it quits, I really would like to talk more about Postmodernism. This class always seems to have a surprising twist on the things I have already heard about and Postmodernism would be a useful and interesting topic to end the semester on. Klosterman and Baudrillard are important scholars in the study of Communication who were in the wake of Postmodernism. I wonder if we can see any of the assumptions of the times within their work and if these perspectives will have to be modified in the future and time continues to march on, or if media and its affects on society are so expansive that their theories are the last of its kind.

Looking back on the semester, my favorite author would surprisingly be Baudrillard. His works are dense, but they are really rewarding because of the ideas that he presents to you. My favorite reading by him would have to me The Spirit of Terrorism. Yes, depressing, but I like seeing a concept being manifesting in a historical example. His writing is shocking because of his ideas not necessarily his style.  Breaking down the entire system that almost universally all Americans pivot on is not only constructive on a conceptual level but leads to great insight to our culture as a whole that in this case could have great implications on the diplomatic and political decisions of our country.

On the other hand my least favorite reading would be “Ha Ha, he said Ha Ha” by Chuck Klosterman. Don’t get me wrong it was an excellent work with interesting points but it was not my cup of tea. It was highly effective by presenting the disgust of the laugh track through its tone but I really wish he had dedicated more time to the concept of seeing laughing as a verbalized pause and his conclusion that it is social behavior that shows that you understand the context of the interaction.He offers a highly interesting argument in this work that I think is really interesting and has implications on our society. If we need something to build that conversational trust between strangers or acquaintances what does that say about our view of strangers, the insecurity within our selves as whole society (which Klosterman actually touches on, saying that as an audience we aren’t confident enough to the point that we need to be told when to find something funny).  My interest in the wider social implications that Klosterman touches on stems from my interest in Anthropology so the tangent that I wanted to go off on is understandable not there because of the field he was constraint to.

Looking to the future I will continue to work on my Anthropology major, finish my Religion major and begin the search for Grad schools. Hopefully an internship or another archaeological dig is thrown into the mix. Next semester I am really looking forward to the Anthropological Forensic course to investigate my interest into forensic sciences. I have a good feeling about next year, and I hope everyone else does to.

Happy Holidays 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

