It’s not an end, but rather a new beginning…

When first signing up for this class, I didn’t know what to expect. Although now that this class is coming to an end, I would like you to further discuss the difference between aesthetic and substantive perspectives more thoroughly because it is still unclear. This class has opened my eyes to new and different things that I am glad I got to experience as a first-year student.

My favorite reading this semester was Y: The Last Man because it was the most interesting (surprisingly) and it was a reading that I didn’t want to put down. The comic aspect of Y: The Last Man was misleading and discouraged me to read it, however once I started reading the graphic novel, I couldn’t put it down.

On the other hand, my least favorite reading was Jean Baudrillard’s Spirit of Terrorism because it was extremely confusing and I couldn’t grasp his main concepts. The only important thing I appreciated in Baudrillard’s reading was his elaboration on “hyperreal” (pg. 3) By Baudrillard comparing a simulation to a hyperreal I noticed that a simulation “is the generation by models of a real without origin or reality” (pg. 2).

My plans for next semester are to buckle down on grades and focus on spring season for soccer. This fall was a great experience and unfortunately it ended shorter than we all wanted, but the spring is a good time to work on getting better. Although school wise, I plan to take a few business classes to start working to my major. Other than school and soccer, I just plan to make it through the semester because I can’t wait for summer to be here. Here is the Facebook Link to follow the Trinity University Women’s Soccer Team.

This is a picture of the starting line-up of one of the Trinity Women's Soccer game.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

