The Spirit of COMM 2302

Baudrillard was an author whose articles caused a lot of anguish. He also makes some interesting comments regarding the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2011.

I still remember the first time I blogged at the beginning of the semester, and I can’t believe that this will be my last blog post for this class. We have exhaustively covered a significant amount of material both in lecture, and blog postings. Yet, in Monday’s lecture, I would like to discuss more about video games, and the messages that they portray. In my opinion, there might be some aspects that we have not touched upon. Therefore, I would be very interested in that since I am slightly addicted to video games like FIFA and Grand Theft Auto IV.

There have been a variety of readings this semester, and my favorite reading of the semester was “Ha ha,” he said. “Ha ha.” by Chuck Klosterman. I really enjoyed Klosterman’s articles, because they were very accessible and relatable. They were also humorous and the ideas were presented very clearly. The reason why I liked the article mentioned above was because he comments on the uselessness of laugh tracks. In particular, he comments about how Americans often fake-laugh as “a modern extension of the verbalized pause, built by TV laugh tracks” (165). After reading this article, I started noticing this daily, but I do not believe that this is the cause of laugh tracks; rather it might be a cultural phenomenon. Nevertheless, I really appreciate reading Klosterman’s articles, because he often bluntly comments about things we see daily.

This course had several readings that I enjoyed, but there was one that was my least favorite. My least favorite reading was Film, Space, and Image by Bernard Dick, because the films used to support claims were very old. Otherwise, the reading was very informative about how films are made from the shots to different types of cuts. In my opinion, the most interesting idea was Eisenstein’s Theory of Montage, which explained how ideas could arise from the contrast and conflict of images. I used Eisenstein’s Theory of Montage during my trailer remix, and I was definitely glad to have read the above article.

Now that I have reflected upon this course, I would like to look forward what lays ahead for me. Next semester will be my last semester at Trinity since I’ll be graduating (barring some major catastrophe). I will be taking three math courses along with a course in finance and accounting each. I regret that I will not be able to take another communication course, because this course was thoroughly refreshing. In the long run, I hope to be working as an actuarial analyst, but if that does not work out, I am applying to Masters of Actuarial Science programs that begin in the fall of 2012. With this, I would like to say goodbye to COMM 2302 – the best class I have ever taken at Trinity.

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Closure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

