¡Adios Amigos!

Skimming through a few classmates blog postings, I see that there are a lot of people that can’t believe it’s already December! I can’t believe it’s only the fourth! I think this may have something to do with the fact that I started listening to Christmas music a month ago and have already been wearing my santa pajama pants regularly. Either way, this semester has been a good one. I’ve had a lot of different learning experiences both inside and outside of the classroom and I’ve really enjoyed it.

This course in particular, has brought many things to my attention that I otherwise would have never thought of. For example, in depth thought about isomorphic correspondence, or even more recent, why we find intertextuality funny in certain cases. I found myself laughing out loud in class during the Darth Vader reenactment of the “David After Dentist” video. Although I’d like to say we should just watch funny youtube videos all class period on Monday, I think it would be appropriate to continue on and end with our conversation on postmodernism as it has held my unremitted attention. I also think it would be important to take time to talk about the final paper and maybe come up with some tips for each other on how to apply aesthetic and substantive perspectives.

My favorite reading this semester was “Ha ha”, he said, “Ha ha” by  Chuck Klosterman because it was opinionated but in a lighthearted way on a subject that again made you stop and think. Laugh tracks are something I have heard numerous times but never taken the time to contemplate what they were inserted to do, or that, as Klosterman says, “the sound we hear on laugh tracks is the sound of dead people laughing.” Creepy. On the contrary, my least favorite reading was Jean Baudrillard’s Precession of Simulacrae. It was dense and left me in a state of confusion. Even after reading it a second painful time, I failed to muster up even a slight liking for it.

Now for future plans! I don’t want to bore anyone too much but I’ll give a brief run around of what that looks like. I have two and a half more semesters until I’m forced to figure out what I want to do with my life so I’m going to try and enjoy being a student. These are years we won’t ever get back once they’re gone and I think it’s easy to forget that sometimes! I’ll still be playing soccer, and I do want to look into studying abroad, maybe somewhere like Greece! I’ve never been out of the country and I think it would be a great life experience.

The last thing I have to say is that one thing I will never forget from this class is that communication does not have an “s” at the end and I will forever be as irritated when it is used incorrectly :).

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Closure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

