– Fin –

I want to start this post by saying that I really enjoyed taking COMM 2303 this semester.  I wasn’t sure what to expect with having no communication experience – after all, my two years at Trinity have consisted primary of the hard sciences.  I had no idea how I’d fare in a class where the answer was based largely on subjectivity.  But after a slight case of deer-in-the-headlights when it came to talking about things in class, I think I really got into it.  Even though I didn’t always know how I was “supposed” to interpret various aspects of the class (readings, video clips, etc.), I enjoyed experiencing something that was out of my comfort zone, and honestly, having a bit of a creative outlet was refreshing.

This is emo. ...actually, this is Chuck Klosterman.

Although I really got into Y: The Last Man, I have to say that Chuck Klosterman‘s “This is Emo” was my favorite read of the semester.  I literally laughed out loud at various parts, so much so that I failed to convince my roommate that I was actually doing homework instead of messing around on YouTube.  There’s something about his anything-but-subtle snarkiness that just tickles me…  And when the topic is chick flicks, then that’s some cynicism I can definitely laugh at.  (Don’t get me wrong; I enjoy chick flicks. But I enjoy the vision of a crotchety middle-aged man grumbling about chick flicks even more.)  My least favorite reading would probably have to be Baudrillard’s “Spirit of Terrorism.”  I just hated the guy’s tone… I was tempted to tune him out regardless of the point he was making simply because he sounded like a pretentious snob, which made it all the more difficult to wade through 30 pages of his article.  I guess I can agree with him when he says,”terrorism would be nothing without the media.”  Despite all the the good things the media provides, it also gives us a window through which horror and violence are magnified and played again and again.

My plans for next semester are to take mostly science classes again (Physics II, Biochem,

Snorkeling off the coast of Australia - how amazing would that be?!

Psych Stats II, etc.).  I am, however, taking a Fundamentals of Cognition class as well as TAing Ballroom I, so that should be fun.  I would love to study abroad at some point, but I just don’t know if it’s realistic for me due to all the pre-med requirements I still have to complete.  If I were to study abroad, it would definitely be during the summer so I could get a couple classes out of the way without worrying about how it would impact the remainder of my academic year.  I would love to go to Australia – I’m fascinated by marine biology, and I’d leap at the chance to go snorkeling around the Great Barrier Reef!  Who knows… maybe I’ll take a trip after I graduate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

