So Long, Farewell

Well it’s the end of the semester and my, what a ride it has been.  Throughout this semester, I feel like we have covered an incredible range of topics; everything from cults to Disneyland to laugh tracks to genocide to Star Wars.  If I was reading that list at the beginning of the semester, I would have told you that there were no similarities between each of the items.  But now I realize that each one has ties to the others and that they can be discussed within the context of one another.  Each of our class discussions was interesting and the topics were very wide-ranging. 

Is this postmodernism?

I really liked that about the class; I feel like I’ve learned a lot about the world in general.  But this Monday, I would like to continue our discussion of postmodernism and its implications.  I found these last few days of class were my favorites because I have often heard the term postmodernism tossed around, but never really known what it meant and what the context and background of the term were.

 My favorite reading of the semester was Klosterman’s This is Emo.  I thought it was hilarious and found myself laughing out loud at multiple parts of the article.  I was that girl, disrupting the devoted studiers in the most silent corners of the library with my chuckles.  But it wasn’t simply the mere entertainment value of the article that made me like it so much, it included many interesting ideas that actually made me think.  The idea that there is no normalcy because everyone is modeling themselves after the same fake ideas and standards was kind of scary.  But the more I think about it, the more I agree with Klosterman.  I wouldn’t say that there is no normalcy at all, that idea is a little extreme, but the notion that our standards and ideas are tainted by the media we consume and the ideas that we are bombarded with on a daily basis is true.  On the other hand, as you could probably predict, the reading I disliked the most was Baudrillard.  All of his articles were beyond painful, but especially The Spirit of Terrorism.  His assertion that each of us wanted the terrorist attacks of 9/11 to happen definitely upset me.  I get that this was his intention and I understand the point he is making about the basic human desire to see large, powerful institutions fall and the spread of those ideas.  However, I think that September 11, 2001 is still a very sensitive topic whose affects are still being dealt with.  I personally believe that his arguments would have been better received had he used an example that was not so fresh and painful.  Instead of dismissing his article as just the thoughts of a crazy, French (insert appropriate explicative here), we might have retained the content.  I’ll be perfectly honest, next semester the main things I will remember from his are how unnecessarily offensive he was and that he didn’t even have the courtesy of being a short-winded crazy, French (insert appropriate explicative here).

 Next semester I will continue taking Psychology and Comm classes, hoping to double major in these two fields.  I will be working with Tiger TV and KRTU, which I am very excited about, in addition to getting some hands on experience in the Psych lab.  Hopefully I will be able to study abroad at some point in my career, but being a dual-sport athlete

I've never been one for somking, though..

here at Trinity greatly complicates those plans.  Perhaps during the summer; I’d like to study in a Spanish speaking nation.  Assuming the world doesn’t end in a year, I will finish up my career here at TU, win a lot of basketball games and track meets, get lots of A’s, get the job of my dreams (no idea what that is yet, but it’s going to be good), and live happily ever after I suppose.  And who knows, maybe someday I’ll get a PhD, learn to speak French and annoy a bunch of innocent undergrads.

This entry was posted in Blog #7. Closure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

